12-Week Checkup and NT Scan

This past week was our very last doctor’s appointment of the first trimester!  Time has just flown by – I can’t believe that I’ll be officially in my second trimester in just two more days!  It is incredible how much Baby Pixie has grown since our last appointment six weeks ago.

After a somewhat frustrating ordeal in attempt to even get an appointment last week, we were finally able to see Baby Pixie again.  This 12 week ultrasound was what they call the “First Screen” or “NT Scan,” which just means they are checking for anything that might present a need for further genetic testing.  Specifically, they look at the fold in the back of the baby’s neck to see if it is accumulating excess fluid, a sign that may indicate a higher risk for Down’s Syndrome, Trisomy 18, and some other chromosomal abnormalitiess.

I am totally used to seeing other people’s still ultrasound pictures (like when they post their pictures on blogs and message boards and such), so I knew exactly what I was looking at when Pixie appeared onscreen as soon as the ultrasound was pressed to my belly.  But what I was NOT prepared for was actually seeing MY KID onscreen!  MY baby!  I could not believe that there was something that actually looked human INSIDE ME!  I knew the baby would look a lot different from the little kidney bean it was in the first ultrasound, but I had no idea that it would be complete with tiny fingers, tiny toes, a little budda belly, a brain in two halves, and an adorable little profile that we could see in perfect detail!  Then the biggest surprise of my life came – the ultrasound tech needed Baby Pixie to move around so that she could measure his/her crown to rump length, so she pressed gently but insistently on my belly with the ultrasound wand-thingy.  In response, Baby literally bounced its way from one end of my uterus to the other and back again!  It looked like he/she was bouncing around in a moonwalk, and doing it all of his/her own volition!  My mouth just dropped open.  I literally had no words to describe what it felt like to see my child moving around inside me all on its own.  Of course I cannot feel it yet, so seeing the whole thing was extremely surreal and a little creepy, but SO incredible!!  The ultrasound tech said, “I really like your kid!” because Baby moved so easily and cooperated so well.  Good Girl/Boy, Baby Pixie.  Mommy will have to remember to give you extra kisses and cuddles when you arrive to thank you for being such a good baby even in utero.

So everything looked and sounded great inside Baby Pixie’s world!  His/her nuchal fold looked nice and thin (just what they like to see for a low-risk baby) and the heartbeat measured at about 140ish beats per minute.  I gotta say, hearing the hearbeat on doppler was kind of pale by comparison to the amazing ultrasound.  But nevertheless we were glad to hear it racing away!  The rest of the appointment was spent just checking up with me to make sure I was feeling well and doing okay.

And since we’re on the subject, I’ll say that Mommy has been having a rough go of it the last few weeks!  I really hope I’m not the type of pregnant person that breezes through the first trimester only to feel like crapola and get sick in the second tri!  I’ve been battling allergies for about a month now, so perhaps that is part of it.  I’m more tired than I have ever been, but I’ve had a bit of a time really getting good sleep. My back has begun to ache a bit, but that could be that I’ve been working really long hours and carrying my 8lb laptop with me everyday.  I have good days and then days where I feel like I’m coming down with the flu.  Mostly the days are good, though – I can’t complain too much.  I’ve really been eating a lot and thus have gained some weight, but doc didn’t seem concerned at all.  This is just the most I have weighed in the past 7 or 8 years so it’s a bit of an adjustment fo r me.  However one of the best things (I think) about being pregnant is that when I get really hungry and need to eat, my next meal tastes like the best thing I’ve ever eaten in my life!  I am very much enjoying eating.  However, I get nauseous very easily now.  I haven’t pinpointed what sets me off exactly, but about once a day I feel as though I may vomit at completely random times.  It usually passes after about an hour or maybe less.  It helps to eat a bit (even if I am not really hungry), and helps even more to suck on something like pepermint or hard candy.  I attribute it to strange fluctions in my bloodsugar.  But who knows?  Could be anything.

Another new development in the last couple of weeks has been the sudden widening of my middle – but this is not just weight gain!  About five days ago I woke up and realized that the section of my lower abdomen was significantly more stickie-outie than usual.  I held up my shirt and turned sideways so Mr. K could confirm what I suspected – my belly has “popped!”  I swear it happened overnight. I woke up that morning and there it was – that telltale little bump I’ve been so anxiously awaiting.  Bring on the maternity pants!!  I might be able to make it one more week in my regular jeans, and then I’ll NEED some maternity pants.  Which by the way, are the BEST THING EVER!!!!  Ohmigosh, why do they not make ALL pants like maternity pants??  That stretchy belly panel is the greatest invention on earth since sliced bread and wine re-corkers.  For real.  No wonder all of female Hollywood has some form of anorexia or seriously depreciated self-image…they’ve got to force themselves into horribly uncomfortable, tight, constricting button-top jeans and pants.  I may never go back to regular fashion again.

So that wraps things up for now!  All that’s missing are some ultrasound pictures, which will have to wait a few more days since I have not had a chance to scan them.  I’ll post them as soon as I can though!

3 thoughts on “12-Week Checkup and NT Scan

  1. Yippeeee for Baby Pixie! Glad everything looks so great and you’re feeling (mostly) well! I miss seeing you around the inter-webz but think about you a bunch and am so happy for you and Mr. K!

  2. Yay for an awesome NT scan/appointment!!! That is so, so exciting. Can’t wait to see you again so I can see your cute little bump. 🙂

Leave a Reply

